Aussies Rule Again At Busan

Stanley And Wolsley Double

If they keep this up, I’m going to run out of Australian puns very quickly. At Seoul we have what might be considered an unconventional partnership in Korean racing terms of a female trainer and female jockey – Lee Shin Young and Kim Hae Sun – being the in-form pairing, down at Busan it’s the foreigners. Specifically the Australian combination of trainer Peter Wolsley and jockey Nathan Stanley.

Heading Out For Winners: Nathan Stanley

Having won the Busan Owners’ Cup for Wolsley in his very first ride in Korea, Stanley took his win tally to six today as he combined with Wolsley to land two wins, two second places and a third. On a phenomenal – not to mention lucrative – day for the jockey, he also grabbed another second place.

The wins were not unexpected. The first of them came in race 7 as Ghost Whisper (Gotham City-Emmy’s Lullaby) justified his hot favourite status to cruise home by nine lengths. The grey Ghost Whisper is owned by Jeju Island’s Pegasus Stables which, with its foreign management made for an all foreign success. A race later and the double was complete as three-year old colt Perfect Jilju (Paradise Creek-Field Bouquet) hacked up for his third consecutive victory.

Despite having the favourite in the feature race, the Australian pair couldn’t quite pull off a memorable treble as 5/1 Full Forest (Full Mandate-Gazella Forest) just got the better of Mighty Hero (Buddha-Pretty Pretty) to win by a length. That second place added to an earlier runner-up finish on Tiare (Ft. Stockton-Misty Cee) in race 2 and a third on filly Always Owner (Ft. Stockton-Cozzie Maxine). Stanley also picked up a second place finish in race 9 on Saetbyeol (Yankee Gentleman-Tom’s Kid) for trainer Lim Keum Man.

Six rides, two wins, three seconds and one thirds. Almost Uchida-esque.

Saturday October 1

Seoul Race Park: 12 races from 11:10 to 17:40 including the Singapore Turf Club Trophy at 16:30
Jeju Race Park: 10 races from 12:30 to 17:30

Sunday October 2

Seoul Race Park: 11 races from 11:10 to 18:05 incliding the Minister’s Cup at 16:35
Busan Race Park: 6 races from 12:30 to 17:05

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s