Day: October 14, 2010

Weekend Preview: Baby Time

Gwacheon Mayor’s Cup at Seoul / Gyeongnam Sinmun at Busan

Around most of the racing world, it’s the time of year when the two-year old honours start to be decided and Korea is no exception. Things get underway this weekend with the season’s first big Juvenile races; the Gwacheon Mayor’s Cup at Seoul on Saturday and the Gyeongnam Sinmun Cup at Busan on Sunday.

Although both races are for Korean-bred horses only, don’t expect to get much of an insight into next year’s three-year old Classics. Six of the eight entrants in the Busan race are what is known as “Po-In-Ma” – horses who were born in Korea but whose dams were in foal when they were imported. As such, although they qualify as Korean-bred, they are excluded from the Korean Triple Crown races (KRA Cup Mile, Derby, Oaks and Minister’s Cup). Regardless of this, there are some exciting prospects in both events

Fillies dominate the entrants – five in the Seoul race and six at Busan and there are some exciting prospects. Unbeaten filly Bulkkot Gisang heads the field at Busan while another filly, Smyth, is yet to lose at Seoul. Here are full lists of runners, pedigrees, race records and riders for both races:

Gwacheon Mayor’s Cup – Seoul Race Park – 1200M – October 16, 2010, 16:40

1. Eocheonmansa [Commendable – Prize Top (Concept Win)] F (4/1/0/0) – Kim Young Jin
2. Magic Party [Artie Schiller – Gigi’s Magic (Allen’s Prospect)] F (2/1/1/0) – Park Tae Jong
3. Queen’s Brown [Didyme – Hallaui Bit (Fiercely)] F (3/1/0/0) – Won Jung Il
4. Smyth [Consolidator – Ghostly Gal (Silver Ghost)] F (2/2/0/0) – Park Byeong Yun
5. Sun Hero [Menifee – Strategic Reward (Bold Revenue)] C (3/1/2/0) – Moon Se Young
6. Sahara [Adcat – Pretty Lil Poison (Hansel)] F (2/0/0/0) – Choi Bum Hyun
7. Ugilcheonha [Vicar – Another Princess (Kingmambo)] C (2/1/0/0) – Ham Wan Sik
8. Cheonjibaram [Ingrandire – Christina’s Star (Kissin Kris)] C (2/0/1/1) – Cho Kyoung Ho

Gyeongnam Sinmun Cup – Busan Race Park – 1200M – October 17, 2010, 15:35

1. Bulkkot Gisang [Langfuhr – Attendance (A.P. Indy)] F (3/3/0/0) – Lim Sung Sil
2. Beongae Bolt [Bellamy Road – Silk Stole (Pulpit)] C (4/2/1/0) – Kim Yong Geun
3. Butterfly [Pioneering – Wild Cat Strike (Wild Again)] F (3/1/1/1) 0 – Kim Do Hyun
4. Heukdujanggun [Vicar – Glorious Thunder (Thunder Gulch)] C (3/2/1/0) – Jo Chang Wook
5. Secret Whisper [Seas Of Secrets – Generals Passion (General Meeting)] (F (3/1/0/1) – Park Geum Man
6. Lucky Chief [Chief Pete – Gamdongjeok (Whitney Tower)] F (5/2/1/0) – Lee Sung Jae
7. Here The Lady [Dehere – Rolling Thunder (Thunder Gulch)] F (4/1/0/1) – You Hyun Myung
8. Myeongmun Power [Aptitude – Missile Defence (Unbridled)] F (3/2/0/1) – Jo Sung Gon

And here’s what’s happening where and when:

Friday October 15

Busan Race Park: 9 races from 12:30 to 18:00
Jeju Race Park: 9 races from 13:30 to 17:30

Saturday October 16

Seoul Race Park: 12 races from 11:20 to 17:50
Jeju Race Park: 9 races from 12:10 to 17:20

Sunday October 17

Seoul Race Park: 11 races from 11:20 to 18:00
Busan Race Park: 6 races from 12:40 to 16:30