Day: April 11, 2010

Triple Seven Strikes Ttukseom Cup Jackpot

Lucky Mountain second as returning Baekpa is fourth

Baekpa produced an exciting late run but it was favourite Triple Seven who sprinted to victory in the Ttukseom Cup at Seoul Race Park this afternoon. Under Choi Bum Hyun, the five-year old first overcame Gangho Jewang and then held off Lucky Mountain and Baengnyeonbong in an action-packed final furlong.

SBS Cup winner Hallyu Star set the pace early on before Gangho Jewang took command with a furlong to go. The big guns came from the back, however, and it was Triple Seven who was the quickest, coming wide to take the lead and hit the line a length and a half clear of second favourite Lucky Mountain.

Fourth by the narrowest of margins was the returning Baekpa. After a year and a half away – which had involved an ill-fated three race stint the US – few gave the 2007 Oaks winner any chance in a race that used to form part of the Korean Triple Crown.

Baekpa back in the paddock at last

Entering the home straight she was practically last but then, with Yoo Seung Wan – a jockey who also spent much of last year in the States – on board, she started to motor and overtook horse after horse before the line came just a little too soon. Her talent is still there and we can hopefully look forward to seeing much more of Baekpa as the season progresses.

As for Triple Seven, third in last year’s President’s Cup, his ninth win is by far the biggest of his career.

Triple Seven and Choi Bum Hyun in the Winner's Circle

Ttukseom Cup (KOR.G.III) – Seoul Race Park – 1400M – Apr 11, 2010

1. Triple Seven [The Groom is Red – Impudence (Grand Lodge)] – Choi Bum Hyun – 1.9, 1.2
2. Lucky Mountain [Silent Warrior – Myeonggaheui (Revere)] – Park Tae Jong – 1.4
3. Baengnyeonbong [Al Naba – Sansovino Art (Mister C.)] – Oh Kyoung Hoan – 2.1

Distances: 1.5 lengths/0.5 lengths

Also Ran: 4, Baekpa; 5. Gangho Jewang; 6. Lucky Seven; 7. New Rider; 8. Namchonuijijon; 9. Khanui Huye; 10. Giant Rose; 11. Holy Dreamer; 12. Grandzif; 13. Hallyu Star; 14. Indiana Dream

Down at Busan, Yeonseung Daero got back to winning ways in the feature race. As ever, the four-year old was matched against overseas-bred opposition and, under a patient ride from Park Geum Man, comfortably saw off the rest of the field over 2000 metres.