Day: April 8, 2010

Weekend Preview – Baekpa Is Back

Baekpa, Triple Seven, Lucky Mountain go for Ttukseom Cup

After Baekgwang made a glorious return to the track last year with his career seemingly cruelly cut short, it’s the turn of little sister Baekpa to make her own comeback after an absence of nearly a year and a half.

The 2007 Korean Oaks and 2008 Sports Seoul winner will line up for the Group 3 Ttukseom Cup at Seoul Race Park on Sunday afternoon. She last appeared in the Grand Prix race back in 2008 before being sent for an ill-advised and ill-fated stint in the USA.

The now six-year old grey will have an uphill task to claim a race that used to be considered as the first leg of the Korean Triple Crown. Lucky Mountain, Triple Seven, Namchonuijijon, Baengnyeonbong and Holy Dreamer are among a very competitive field going to post for the race named after the former home of Seoul Racecourse.

The Ttukseom Cup is the highlight of a weekend which also sees Seoul’s best horse in action. Dongbanui Gangja goes in race 11 on Saturday.

Full list of Ttukseom Cup runners and riders (Name/pedigree/age/sex/record/Jockey):

Ttukseom Cup (G.III) – Seoul Race Park – 1400M – Sunday April 11, 2010, 17:00

1. Triple Seven [The Groom is Red – Impudence (Grand Lodge)] 5-H-(25/8/3/6) – Choi Beom Hyun
2. Giant Rose [Pacific Bounty – Kiss My Goldie (Candie’s Gold)] 5-M-(22/5/3/3) – Moon Jung Kyun
3. Baekpa [Revere – Grey Crest (Gold Crest)] 6-M-(22/8/5/2) – Yoo Seung Wan
4. Lucky Mountain [Silent Warrior – Myeonggaheui (Revere)] 5-M-(26/8/7/7) – Park Tae Jong
5. New Rider [Road Of War – Flyin Kristen (Exclusive Gem)] 7-H-(48/6/6/3) – Moon Se Young
6. Baengnyeonbong [Al Naba – Sansovino Art (Mister C.)] 4-C-(16/6/1/5) – Oh Kyoung Hoan
7. Namchonuijijon [Concept Win – Intriga (Lord At Law)] 6-H-(30/6/8/4) – Jung Ki Yong
8. Indiana Dream [Buster’s Daydream – Momento’s Pride (Momento)] 5-H-(24/5/4/3) – Jo In Kwen
9. Khanui Huye [The Groom Is Red – Noble Michelle (Flow Technology)] 4-C-(16/5/3/1) – Ham Wan Sik
10. Lucky Seven [Didyme – Agent Flirt (Double Agent)] 8-G-(31/5/7/2) – Lee Sang Hyeok
11. Holy Dreamer [Duality – Nice Weather (Future Storm)] 4-G-(11/7/0/1) – Shin Hyoung Chul
12. Hallyu Star [Sharp Appeal – Angel (Land Rush)] 7-G-(41/7/6/3) – Choi Won Joon
13. Grandzif [Mujaazif – Knight Blues (Knight’s Choice)] 5-M-(26/4/7/3) – Kim Dong Min
14. Gangho Jewang [Road Of War – Chinsongwon (Glorify)] 5-G-(21/5/2/5) – Yoo Sang Wan

Friday April 9

Busan Race Park: 10 races from 12:00 to 18:00
Jeju Race Park: 9 races from 13:30 to 17:30

Saturday April 10

Seoul Race Park: 12 races from 11:20 to 17:40
Jeju Race Park: 9 races from 12:10 to 17:20

Sunday April 11

Seoul Race Park: 11 races from 11:20 to 18:10
Busan Race Park: 6 races from 12:40 to 16:30

Baekpa’s Oaks: