Day: November 13, 2008

President’s Cup Weekend Preview

Busan Race Park
Friday November 14: There are ten races at Busan on Friday. Feature race is race 8 where Crafty Louis tops the weights in an 1800 metre handicap. The first comes under orders at 13:00

Sunday November 16: Six races at Busan on Sunday with the first at 12:20. The feature sees Procyon looking to return to winning ways after some poor recent form when the four year old goes over 2000 metres in race 5.

Seoul Race Park
Saturday November 15: The first of eleven races gets underway at 11:00 with the last at 17:20. The most valuable race is a handicap for foreign bred horses. Dongbanui Gangja tops the weights.

Sunday November 16: The President’s Cup day card starts at 11:00 with the big race off at 16:40 – See below for full preview. In addition to the main event there are some other interesting match-ups especially in the last when Supernatural will be looking to get back in form

The weather is forecast to be dry with some sunshine on Saturday but mainly overcast on Sunday. Jeju Race Park hosts its usual ten race card on both Saturday and Sunday with both days starting at 12:20.

Nine Up for President’s Cup

A small field of nine go in the President’s Cup race at Seoul Race Park this coming Sunday. The Group 1 race, over 2000 metres, is one of the biggest of the year for Korean-bred older horses with a KRW 265Million first prize. Leading the field is Myeongmun Gamun. The seven year old is without a start on two months, perhaps in part due to his notorious refusal to go in the stalls and habit of picking up suspensions as a result. Nevertheless, when he goes in, he’s one of the best in any race. Also going is Baekpa, the only filly in the field. Full list of runners, records and riders:

President’s Cup (G.I) – Seoul Race Park – 2000M – Nov 16, 2008 – 16:40

1. Baengnokjeong (22/7/2/3) – Hwang Soon Do
2. Natural Nine (16/7/2/2) – Park Soo Hong
3. Baekpa (20/8/4/2) – Park Tae Jong
4. Hongji (26/8/9/3) – Shin Hyoung Cheol
5. Flying Cat (70/16/6/8) – Oh Kyoung Hoan
6. Saebyeok Dongja (31/9/4/2) – Moon Se Young
7. Myeongmun Gamun (28/16/3/4) – Cho Kyoung Ho
8. Triple Seven (11/3/2/2) – Choi Beom Hyun
9. Dashing Champ (32/7/8/2) – Shim Seung Tae