Day: January 20, 2008

Racing Review – Sunday January 20

Haengun Daewang got the better of former horse of the year Subsidy in today’s feature race at Seoul Race Park. The 34Million Won 17:10 saw Yoo Sang Wan guide Haengun Daewang the 2.2 favourite home a length ahead of Subsidy who went off second favourite at 3.0. The day’s second most valuable race was the last won by Jingyok Napal (Oh Kyung Hoan) at 4.1. Racing was competitive throughout but withdrawals to the highly fancied Rebound in race 6 and Photo Map in race 8 skewed the odds slightly. Favourites for the most part won with the longest price winner being Dunamjae in race 2 at 5.0 giving Moon Jung Kyun his first winner of 2008.

There were six races at Busan this afternoon although persistant rain meant there was a lower than hoped for turn out. The feature race was the 16:10, an 1800 metre handicap which was won by the 4.4 second favourite Keep It Quick, ridden by Cho Seung Keun a head in front of Hidden Hero (Im, Sung Shil) at 5.0. Race 5 saw an impressive win by Vitesse (Choi See Dae) at 5.5, timing his run to perfection to overcome Jincheol Han and favourite Myunggyung Cheolli by half a length.

There were also nine races at Jeju. The feature race was won by outsider Myeonggajarang (Han Young Min) at 19.4. It was a day of outsiders at Jeju as some racegoers became very rich, principally after race 5 – the exacta paying 214.0 on first placed Jeonseolihim and second Sokbojeondal.

Jockey’s Championship 2008
Eleven different jockeys won races at Seoul today. Moon Se Young took the first to consolidate his lead at the top of the table. Park Tae Jong finished second three times today but couldn’t build on his double yesterday and remains on four.

1. Moon Se Young 9

2. Cho Kyoung Ho 7

3. Yoon Dae Keun 5

4. Park Tae Jong 4

5. Choi Beom Hyun, Ikuyasu Kurukane, Kim Dong Kyun; 3