Day: April 14, 2011

Weekend Preview: Ttukseom Cup

Dangdae Bulpae, Cheonnyeon Daero, Yeonseung Daero, Namdo Jeap Come To Seoul

Korean horse racing is, if truth be told, generally just the most popular of the three legal gambling games on the peninsula. And the only one open on the weekend. Be it the Korean Derby or a class 6 maiden, for the vast majority of punters every race is just a number, another punting opportunity.

Not that this is much different to anywhere else but the huge crowds and the atmospheric summer evenings notwithstanding, the sterility of some big race days in Korea can be quite off-putting to the race fan. The KRA knows how to hype a race with slick video packages but the feeling is always unavoidable: apart from connections, very few people actually care about the name of the horse that wins the race. It’s the numbers in the quinella that count.

Triple Seven wins last year's Ttukseom Cup

This Sunday, however, is one of the few days on the racing calendar where history gets honoured in the shape of the GIII Ttukseom Cup, so named to remember of the location of the old Seoul Racecourse on the north bank of the River Han. It’s a race which has been run every year since the current track opened in Gwacheon in 1989 with winners including the great J.S. Hold, who claimed the race when it was run as the first leg of the Triple Crown series in 2007.

Classic Winner Dangdae Bulpae has never lost at Seoul

This year marks a new chapter in the race as for the first time, horses from Busan have been invited to the capital. And the Southern track is sending its A-Team in the shape of three classic winners; Namdo Jeap, Cheonnyeon Daero and Dangdae Bulpae who will all drop down to seven furlongs along with prolific winners Yeonseung Daero and Triple Sinhwa for an assault on the Cup. Seoul, still reeling after its best three year olds suffered a shock reverse in the KRA Cup Mile a fortnight ago, will have a hard time keeping the trophy on home soil. Its best hope may come in the shape of last year’s winner Triple Seven. The big race is underway at 4:35pm on Sunday and is race 9 of 11 at Seoul. See below for a full list of runners and riders but first, here’s what’s happening when and where this weekend:

Friday April 15

Busan Race Park: 9 races from 12:00 to 18:00
Jeju Race Park: 9 races from 13:30 to 17:30

Saturday April 16

Seoul Race Park: 11 races from 11:10 to 17:40
Jeju Race Park: 9 races from 12:30 to 17:20

Sunday April 17

Seoul Race Park: 11 races from 11:10 to 18:05
Busan Race Park: 6 races from 12:30 to 17:05

* The Ttukseom Cup will be run over seven furlongs and is open to Korean born horses aged four years old and up. Two mares, Golden Rose and Tamna Hero will be involved. Here’s a run down of the runners, pedigree, race records (races/1sts/2nds/3rds), riders and home tracks of all fourteen runners:

Ttukseom Cup (KOR.GIII) – Seoul Race Park – 1400M – Sunday Apr 17, 16:35

1. Dangdae Bulpae (KOR) [Biwa Shinseiki – Indeed My Dear (Alydeed)] – (15/10/1/1) – Jo Sung Gon (Busan)
2. Best Holls (KOR) [Fierecely – Onethindime (Tactical Advantage)] – (15/5/1/2) – Jung Ki Yong (Seoul)
3. Suseong TX (KOR) [Concept Win – Oktong-I (Kyoei Blossom)] – (21/7/4/4) – Moon Se Young (Seoul)
4. Triple Sinhwa (KOR) [Capital Spending – Claudia’s Secret (Crafty Prospector)] – (15/6/6/0) – You Hyun Myung (Busan)
5. Golden Rose (KOR) [Buster’s Daydream – Pop’s Apple (Digangi’s Grinder)] – (21/5/3/3) – Moon Jung Kyun (Seoul)
6. Tamna Hero (KOR) [Creek Cat – The Big C (Deputed Testamony)] (25/8/4/3) – Chae Gyu Jun (Busan)
7. Wangson (KOR) [Distilled – Eastern Tide (Far Out East)] – (17/8/3/1) – Cho Kyoung Ho (Seoul)
8. Tamnahwanhui (KOR) [Al Naba – Bulbijihye (Pro For Sure)] – (18/5/3/1) – Kim Cheol Ho (Seoul)
9. Yeonseung Daero (KOR) [Creek Cat – Sensationalkris (Cryptoclearance)] – (30/13/6/4) – Choi Si Dae (Busan)
10. Namdo Jeap (KOR) [Ft. Stockton – Wandering Katie (Tejano)] – (27/8/7/4) – Kim Dong Young (Busan)
11. Baengnyeonbong (KOR) [Al Naba – Sansovino Art (Mister C.)] – [(25/7/2/7) – Oh Kyoung Hoan (Seoul)
12. The Almighty (KOR) [Capital Spending – Dauntless Cat (Mountain Cat)] – (15/5/3/0) – Ham Wan Sik (Seoul)
13. Triple Seven (KOR) [The Groom Is Red – Impudence (Grand Lodge)] – (34/12/4/7) – Choi Bum Hyun (Seoul)
14. Cheonnyeon Daero (KOR) [Creek Cat – Doneitmyway (Northern Flagship)] – (19/7/7/2) – Park Geum Man (Busan)