Day: March 15, 2008

Seoul Review – favourites dominate

Seoul Racing Review – March 15
There were no surprises today as favourites lived up to their billing on a mild spring day this afternoon. The most valuable race of the day only attracted 7 runners and it proved to be a a mismatch as Namchonuijon (Oh Kyung Hoan), starting the 1.1 favourite, hit the front at the final turn and accelerated to win by a remarkable 18 lengths from Bisul (Park Tae Jong). In the previous race the 1.3 favourite Jeokdaejeok (Cho Kyoung Ho), found things a little tougher but produced a fast finish to take he line 2 lengths ahead of Baekdujeonseol (Chun Chang Ki). There were also odds-on wins for Gangcheolgwon (Chun Chang Ki), starting at 1.7 and finishing 6 lengths in front of Devilish Speed, and also for Aragorn (Woo Chang Gu). Aragorn went off at at 1.5 but faced a tough battle with Huimang Energy (Ham Wan Sik) in the closing stages with the favourite getting the better of it by just over a length.

Finish of the day was in race 7, which punters also found the most competitive of the day. In the end, joint second favourites Rulluralla (An Byung Ki) and Happy Hero (Moon Se Young) both starting at 4.1 came home with just a nose between them as An Byung Ki picked up his second win of the afternoon, with outsider Crown Birdie (Lee Jeong Sup) just half a length back in third. With the exception of Royal Taichi (Moon Jung Kyun) picking up race 5 at 18.1, the favourites had it all their own way – Sinnui Norae (Yoon Dae Keun) coming home at 1.6 in race 2 and Hanbatanguseum (An Byung Ki) at 1.5 in race 6. With his double, An Byung Ki was the only jockey to win more than one race with the returning Moon Se Young picking up a win on Hammer Punch (2.2) in race 8. Danny Craven had five rides, the highlight being placing third on Yeonseung Melody (14.0) in race 8.

Racing is back tomorrow at Seoul Race Park with the first of eleven races starting at 11:20. There are also six races at Busan, the first at 13:00 and nine on Jeju Island with the first off at 12:20.

Full Results