Dangdae Bulpae Completes President’s Cup Hat-Trick In Emphatic Style

Dangdae Bulpae sent records tumbling as he cruised to a dominating victory in the President’s Cup at Seoul Race Park this afternoon.

Dangdae Bulpae and Jo Sung Gon in the President’s Cup winner’s circle for the third consecutive year

Not only was it the five-year old’s third consecutive win in Korea’s richest race, an unprecedented feat, it was also his ninth Stakes win and took him to close to 3 Billion Won in career prize money, neither of which have ever been achieved by any other horse on the peninsula.

In the betting ring, punters sent Dangdae Bulpae off as the slight favourite in chilly, wet and blustery conditions, just ahead of Korean Derby winner Jiguem I Sungan. On the track, however, no-one even got close. Under Jo Sung Gon, Dangdae Bulpae hit the front as the field started to turn for home and once he did, the contest was over.

Moon Se Young may have left Jigeum I Sungan’s late run a little too late but he was never going to catch the winner, with the margin four lengths on the line after Jo had eased down the defending champion in the final furlong. Jigeum I Sungan held off KRA Cup Mile winner Gyeongbudaero by a head to claim third.

The victory was the eighteenth of Dangdae Bulpae’s career. As a three-year old he disappointed in the Cup Mile before finishing third in the Korean Derby. He made his breakthrough in the final Classic of the season, the Minister’s Cup before going on to claim his first President’s Cup. He finished the year on a low note, however, failing to get the trip in the Grand Prix Stakes, ending up in eleventh.

Although Busan based, he returned to Seoul as a four-year to win the Ttukseom Cup before a summer wobble saw him taste back to back Stakes defeats. He was back in form for the President’s Cup, however, winning comfortably.

Trainer Yoo Byung Bok greets his horse after training him to his third President’s Cup

Defeated by the late Mister Park early this year, Dangdae Bulpae beat an out of sorts Tough Win and a found to be lame Smarty Moonhak to win the Busan Metropolitan Cup and then claimed the Busan Owners’ Cup before returning to Seoul for today’s triumph.

The only thing missing now is the Grand Prix. Uniquely, invites to run in the Grand Prix are decided by public vote. If Dangdae Bulpae’s name is on the ballot, he’ll surely be voted in in top place and, with no Mister Park or Smarty Moonhak and an inconsistent Tough Win, it will be difficult for connections to keep him away a second year running.

Jigeum I Sungan has a shot at being there too. The Derby winner looks like he will be a very tough proposition next year. Gyeongbudaero too showed once again that he can compete among the best. There was a scare, however, for Rising Glory. Jockey Joe Fujii dismounted from the Oaks winner as soon as they crossed the line and although superficially no injury was apparent, she was sent for a full vet’s check-up.

The President’s Cup (KOR G1) – Seoul Race Park – 2000M – November 11, 2012

1. Dangdae Bulpae (KOR) [Biwa Shinseiki-Indeed My Deed (Alydeed) – Jo Sung Gon – 1.9, 1.2
2. Jigeum I Sungan (KOR) [Ingrandire-Solmaru (Mujaazif)] – Moon Se Young – 1.4
3. Gyeongbudaero (KOR) [Menifee-Princess Lanique (Cherokee Run)] – 2.2

Distances: 4 length/Head
Also Ran: 4. Seungnuihanseong 5. Magnnifique 6. Powerful Korea 7. Nobel Pokpung 8. Special Win 9. Yeonseung Daero 10. High Point 11. Cheot Insang DQ. Golden Rose DQ. Rising Glory.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s