Day: June 10, 2010

Weekend Preview – We’re With You!

KNN and Owners’ Cups top the bill on big weekend

What a weekend in prospect! First let’s get the important things out-of-the-way:

Yes, the World Cup gets underway on Friday and the South Korean team will be in action against Greece on Saturday evening. Seoul Race Park will stay open after Saturday’s last race for a pop concert followed by the whole game live on the two giant screens at 8:30pm.


Prior to that there will have been a full day’s card of twelve races with the highlight being the very last at 6pm when one time track heroine Baekpa – winner of the 2007 Korean Oaks and the 2008 SBS Cup – makes her second appearance since her long lay-off after returning from the US last year. She carries the lowest weight in an intriguing race that also features the likes of Gi Ra Seong, Good Day and, significantly, top three-year old Seonbongbulpae.

Racing will begin at Busan on Friday but it is Sunday which sees the pick of the action with a double-header of Stakes races at Seoul and Busan. Down on the South Coast, it’s the KNN Cup and a tasty clash of the track’s top four year-olds featuring a host of names from last year’s Classic trail – with one or two older and younger horses thrown in. Cup Mile and Derby winner Sangseung Ilro will be there, as will the runner-up in those races and ultimate Minister’s Cup winner Namdo Jeap. Late developer Yeonseung Daero also goes as do 2008 Cup Mile winner Rainmaker and 2009 Champion Juvenile Night Moves.

Once the KNN Cup is over with, the focus switches to Seoul where it’s the Owners’ Cup. This year restricted to fillies & mares only, it features the likes of Love Cat, Soseono, Lucky Mountain, Pocketful Of Money and last month’s JRA Trophy winner Gippeumnuri in what should be a cracking contest.

Soseono is among the fillies & mares going for the Owners' Cup

We’ll try to put up a full preview of both races – probably between football matches – on Saturday evening.

Here’s what’s happening where and when:

Friday June 11

Busan Race Park: 10 races from 12:00 and 18:00
Jeju Race Park: 9 races from 13:30 to 17:30

Saturday June 12

Seoul Race Park: 12 races from 11:20 to 18:00
Jeju Race Park: 10 races from 12:10 to 17:30

Sunday June 13

Seoul Race Park: 11 races from 11:20 to 18:10
Busan Race Park: 6 races from 12:40 to 16:30