Day: August 4, 2008

Shaving Points and Playing Politics could clash in YTN

This year’s two most exciting three year old imports to Seoul are both entered in the YTN Cup to be run over 1900 metres at Seoul Race Park on Sunday August 17. Shaving Points and Playing Politics both have three runs with three wins to their names and their eventual meeting is one of the most anticipated in Korean racing.

Shaving Points, son of Pure Precision, hasn’t run since the end of May when he cantered to an easy win over 1700 metres. He was initially entered in the Owner’s Association Trophy but was withdrawn. Playing Politics, son of Outflanker and a half brother of Bally Brae (through their dam, Political Bluff), only debuted the day before Shaving Points’ last outing and broke the track record over 1300 metres before going on to secure a similarly easy 1700 metre win.

There are 15 entries at this stage and also on the list are three year olds Cheonjidolpung (Tactical Cat) with four wins from eight, Noubeau Riche (Beau Genius) with five from eight and Vicar Love (Vicar) who has four from seven. Full preview next Thursday.

Moon still way out in front

Despite yet another weekend on the sidelines through suspension, it is hard to imagine Moon Se Young being caught at the top of the jockey’s table. He holds a lead of 13 over nearest rival Cho Kyoung Ho and is just 43 short of Park Tae Jong’s record of 120 in a single year. Park still maintains a clear third place while four winners on Sunday takes Choi Beom Hyun into fourth ahead of Ikuyasu Kurakane:

1. Moon Se Young 77
2. Cho Kyoung Ho 64
3. Park Tae Jong 47
4. Choi Beom Hyun 32
5. Ikuyasu Kurakane 30

Six KRA Jockey school graduates debuted over the weekend, all having two rides with the exception of Kim Cheol Ho who picked up a third as a late replacement. Kim was the only one of the newcomers to place over the weekend.  Thanks to the reader who pointed out that Yu Mi Ra’s first ride on Saturday was on the filly “Charming Girl”, finishing sixth. Of last year’s graduates, Yoo Seung Wan has been the most successful with 22 winners to date